Wolastoqey Nation
in New Brunswick


We strive to provide technical advice to Wolastoqey leadership and Resource Development Consultation Coordinators (RDCCs) in resource development consultation matters that relate to the implementation and exercise of Wolastoqey constitutionally protected rights. WNNB aspires to protect and promote traditional lands, ceremony, cultural practices, and language.

Consultation matters reviewed by WNNB include those issues that may affect land and natural resources (e.g., water, fish, wildlife, trees, plants, wetlands, minerals), archeology and commercial interests relating to natural resources (e.g., forestry and commercial fisheries).

The Maliseet Nation in New Brunswick (MNNB) received its Certificate of Incorporation in April 2017 and changed its name to Wolastoqey Nation in New Brunswick (WNNB) in July 2017. WNNB consists of Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, Tobique First Nation, Kingsclear First Nation, St. Mary’s First Nation and Oromocto First Nation.

Things We Do

The WNNB staff is always working hard to serve our member community's best interests.
Some of the project we are working on include:

  • Forestry
  • Strategic Rights Plan
  • Fisheries
  • Climate Change
  • Environmental Reviews
  • Traditional Land Use Studies

Wondering what the Strategic Rights Plan is all about? Watch this video, and feel free to share!




Watch this video for a up-to-date timeline on the Sission project.

Our Team

Shyla O'Donnell- Consultation Director

(506)459-6341

Angie Paul- Forestry Advisor

angie.paul@wtci-nb.ca

Deana Sappier- Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Coordinator

deana.sappier@wtci-nb.ca

Sandra Polchies- Finance/HR

finance@wtci-nb.ca

Dr. Colin Curry- Fisheries Biologist

colin.curry@wtci-nb.ca

Dr. Jason Hall- Ethnohistorian

jason.hall@wtci-nb.ca

Thomas Herbreteau- GIS Technician

thomas.herbreteau@wtci-nb.ca

Resource Development
Consultation Coordinators (RDCC)

Madawaska Maliseet First Nation- Russ Letica
Tobique First Nation- Jamie Gorman
Woodstock First Nation- Amanda McIntosh
Kingsclear First Nation- Natasha Sacobie
St. Mary's First Nation- Timothy Plant
Oromocto First Nation- Fred Sabattis,
Assistant RDCC- Zeke Crofton-MacDonald

Newsletters

If there is a newsletter that you need which is not listed here,
please send us an email, and we'll hook you up.